Contact: Aimee Clayton

APPOINTMENTS TO IOWA PUBLIC RADIO BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Actions Requested:

- 1. Approve the reappointment of Kay Runge and Arthur Neu as Community Directors on the Iowa Public Radio Board of Directors, retroactive to October 2010.
- 2. Receive information on the appointment of Tysen Kendig as Licensee Director for the University of Iowa and Gloria Gibson as Licensee Director for the University of Northern Iowa.

Executive Summary: The Iowa Public Radio Board of Directors is comprised of five directors; including two Community Directors and three Licensee Directors. The Community Directors represent the interests of the community, and the Licensee Directors represent the interests of the station licensees, the University of Iowa, Iowa State University and the University of Northern Iowa.

<u>Community Directors</u>: Pursuant to the Amended and Restated Bylaws, the two Community Directors shall be appointed by the Board of Regents, State of Iowa. Community Directors serve for a period of three years and may be reappointed to successive terms. The appointments of Kay Runge and Arthur Neu as Community Directors expired in October 2010. Iowa Public Radio requests that the Board of Regents approve the reappointment of Kay Runge and Arthur Neu as Community Directors, retroactive to October 2010.

<u>Licensee Directors</u>: The three Licensee Directors are appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the individual serving as President, Acting President or Interim President of the licensee station being represented. In October 2010, President Sally Mason named Tysen Kendig, Vice President for Strategic Communications, as the Licensee Director for the University of Iowa. Mr. Kendig is replacing Steve Parrott on the IPR Board of Directors.

In October 2010, President Ben Allen named Gloria Gibson, Executive Vice President and Provost, as the Licensee Director representing the University of Northern Iowa. Ms. Gibson is replacing Steve Carignan on the IPR Board of Directors.