Contact: Ann McCarthy

TRANSPARENCY TASK FORCE

<u>Recommended Action</u>: (a) Consider appointments to the Transparency Task Force and (b) consider the charge of the Transparency Task Force

1. At the February 6, 2013, meeting of the Board, the composition and appointment of the Transparency Task Force was approved. From February 26 to March 6, the public was invited to submit nominations for the public member. President Lang will announce the name of the public member at the Board meeting.

Voting Members: 9

Board of Regents and Chairperson (Nicole Carroll) Governor's Iowa Public Information Board (Kathleen Richardson) Executive of the Board of Regents or his designee (Patrice Sayre) Iowa Senate (Senator Jeff Danielson) Iowa House of Representatives (Representative Peter Cownie) University of Iowa (Mark Braun) Iowa State University (Miles Lackey) University of Northern Iowa (Dr. John Johnson) Public Member (To be announced at the Board meeting.)

Ex Officio/Non-Voting Member: 1 Legal Counsel, Board of Regents (Tom Evans/Aimee Clayton)

- 2. Charge of the Task Force
 - a. Recommend best practices for responding to public information requests;
 - b. Recommend best practices for access to public information of interest to lowans.