Contact: Diana Gonzalez

APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES, BOARDS, AND COMMISSIONS

<u>Action Requested</u>: Consider approval of the appointments to the Iowa School for the Deaf Foundation Board, Iowa Public Radio Board of Directors, and Regional Telecommunications Councils.

Executive Summary:

- Iowa College Student Aid Commission. The Commission provides oversight regarding financial aid programs administered by the agency. A member of the Board of Regents or the executive director of the Board serves a four-year term or until the expiration of the member's term of office. The current appointee is Robert Donley.
- ♦ <u>lowa School for the Deaf Foundation Board</u>. The purpose of the foundation is to promote the welfare of the schools, its students, staff, and alumni by providing financial support to the school through the acquisition of gifts, grants, bequests, and other available funding. The past Regent appointee was **Jack Evans**.
- ♦ Iowa Public Radio. In December 2004, the Board of Regents created Iowa Public Radio to consolidate the radio stations at the three Regent universities. In February 2006, Iowa Public Radio was incorporated under the Revised Iowa Nonprofit Corporation Act, Chapter 504 of the Iowa Code. The Board of Directors is comprised of seven members, including four community directors representing the interests of the community; and three licensee directors representing the interests of the station licensees. The current community member appointees are Art Neu, Kay Runge, Douglas West, and Steve Firman. The current licensee directors are Warren Madden (ISU), Gloria Gibson (UNI), and Mark Braun (SUI).
- Radio Telecommunications Councils. A Council is established in each AEA area. The purpose of the Councils is to advise the Education Telecommunications Council on the assessment of local educational needs, and the coordination of program activities including scheduling. Currently, there is no appointee in Council 12. The current appointees in Councils 2, 3, 4, and 15 are Donald Kamps, Cheryl Heronemus, Jerry Chizek, and Himar Hernandez.

PROPOSED BOARD OF REGENTS APPOINTMENTS

BOARD NAME	RATIONALE	APPROVED BY BOR	LAST APPOINTED REPRESENTATIVE	END OF TERM	PROPOSED REPRESENTATIVE	NEW/ CONTINUED TERM
Iowa College Student Aid Commission	Statutory - §261.1	8/7/08	Robert Donley	Open	Hannah Walsh	Open
ISD Foundation Board	By-Laws		Jack Evans	4/30/13	Hannah Walsh	9/30/14
Iowa Public Radio Board of Directors	BOR Policy §1.10	10/1/2010	Kay Runge Art Neu Warren Madden (ISU)	9/30/13 9/30/13 Open	JoAnn Johnson Mary Kramer John McCarroll (ISU)	9/30/16 9/30/16 Open
Regional Telecommunications Councils	Statutory Iowa Code §8D.5		Region 12 – Don Nitchie	7/31/11	Region 12 – Cheryl Heronemus (ISU)	9/30/14
			Region 2 – Donald Kamps (SUI)	9/30/13	Region 2 – Donald Kamps (SUI)	9/30/14
			Region 4 – Cheryl Heronemus (ISU)	9/30/13	Region 4 – Cheryl Heronemus (ISU)	9/30/14
			Region 5 – Jerry Chizek (ISU)	9/30/13	Region 5 – Jerry Chizek (ISU)	9/30/14
			Region 15 – Himar Hernandez (ISU.)	9/30/13	Region 15 – Himar Hernandez (ISU)	9/30/14

JoAnn Johnson

Ms. JoAnn Johnson currently serves as the superintendent of the Iowa Division of Credit Units (IDCU) following her appointment by Governor Terry Branstad in 2011. IDCU is charged with protecting the interests of credit union members and shareholders. The superintendent of credit unions services, controls, and enforces laws, rules, and regulations pertaining to credit unions.

Ms. Johnson was elected to the Iowa State Senate in 1994 and served as chair of the Senate Ways and Means Committee for four years and the Senate Commerce Committee for one year. She was appointed to the National Credit union Administration (NCUA) in 2002 and served as chair of the agency from 2004-2008. As chair, Ms. Johnson oversaw a \$150 million budget and was responsible for the day-to-day operation of 950 agency staff. NCUA is the federal agency that



insures approximately 8,000 not-for-profit credit unions and regulates all federally chartered credit unions.

Ms. Johnson holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Education from the University of Northern Iowa. She and her husband, Brian, reside in Panora and have two grown children.

Mary E. Kramer

Ms. Mary E. Kramer is a former Republican Iowa State Senator who served from 1990 to 2003. She was elected President of the Senate in 1997, becoming the first independently elected woman to fill the post. In 2003, Ms. Kramer was nominated by President George W. Bush to serve as U.S. Ambassador to Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean; she was confirmed by the U.S. Senate and served from 2004 to 2006.

Ms. Kramer was born in Burlington and grew up in Iowa City. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in piano performance and a Master of Arts degree in education from the University of Iowa. For almost 20 years, Ms. Kramer worked as a teacher and school administrator in Iowa. In 1975, she entered the corporate sector when she



became the Corporate Personnel Director for Younkers, Inc. She joined Wellmark Blue Cross and Blue Shield in 1981. During her 18 years with the company, she served as Vice President of Human Resources and Vice President of Community Investments. Ms. Kramer and her husband, Kay, have a son and daughter and four grandchildren.