MEMORANDUM

To: Board of Regents

From: Board Office

Subject: Reorganization of the Biological Sciences – 2nd Phase, ISU

Date: May 12, 2003

Recommended Action:

Approve the second phase of the reorganization of the Biological Sciences at Iowa State University. Specifically, to complete the reorganization of six departments: Animal Ecology; Biochemistry, Biophysics & Molecular Biology; Botany; Forestry; Microbiology; and Zoology & Genetics into four departments: Biochemistry, Biophysics & Molecular Biology; Ecology, Evolution, & Organismal Biology; Genetics, Development & Cell Biology; and Natural Resources Ecology & Management.

Executive Summary:

Six Departments into Four Departments

lowa State University is requesting approval to complete the reorganization of six biological and life sciences departments into four departments. Approval of new curricular programs will be requested at a later date as they are developed.

Phase I

Phase I Approved by Board of Regents in June 2002 In the first phase of the reorganization process, approved by the Board of Regents in June 2002, the Departments of Animal Ecology and Forestry merged to form the Department of Natural Resources, Ecology & Management (NREM).

Phase II

Phase II Proposals

The Colleges of Agriculture and Liberal Arts and Sciences are now proposing that the Board of Regents approve the following:

 Elimination of the Department of Microbiology. The College of Agriculture administration has determined that the Microbiology Department does not have the number of faculty positions (currently 9 faculty) to warrant administration as a separate department. Faculty will be assigned to appropriate departments within the Colleges. However, the microbiology undergraduate and graduate programs will be maintained. Effective date: July 1, 2003.

- Elimination of the Departments of Botany and Zoology & Genetics and the establishment of two new departments: Ecology, Evolution & Organismal Biology (EEOB) and Genetics, Development & Cell Biology (GDCB). The Colleges of Agriculture and Liberal Arts and Sciences will jointly administer the new departments. Effective date: July 1, 2003.
- 3. The Department of Biochemistry, Biophysics & Molecular Biology (BBMB) will remain as a department. Six faculty from the old Microbiology and Zoology & Genetics Departments will be transferred to this Department.

Involves Several Departments

The Departments of NREM, EEOB, GDCB and BBMB will participate in vigorous and open discussions regarding the biological sciences curriculum and space and resource allocation. The curriculum discussions will involve many life science departments from multiple colleges (primarily from the Colleges of Agriculture, Liberal Arts and Sciences, Family and Consumer Sciences, and Veterinary Medicine).

Robert J. Barak

Approved:

regory S' Nichols

h/aa/docket/2003/May/isu-2