From: Sent:	Tuttle, Ilene [BOARD] [ituttle@iastate.edu] Tuesday, January 20, 2009 1:28 PM
То:	Campbell, Bonnie J.; Downer, Robert; Evans, Jack B.; Gartner, Michael; Harkin, Ruth;
	Johnson, Greta A; Lang, Craig; Miles, David; Vasquez, Rose
Cc:	Smith, Dianne [BOARD]
Subject:	Attached Resolution for: Support of a Proposed Tuition Increase

Attachments:

diannes@iastate.edu\_20090120\_134951.pdf



diannes@iastate.ed u\_20090120\_1...

The attached Resolution was received in the Board Office, addressed to each of you. The Resolution will be posted to our Website also.

Ilene Tuttle Executive Assistant Board of Regents, State of Iowa 11260 Aurora Avenue Urbandale, IA 50322-7905 Phone: 515/281-6425 Fax: 515/281-6420

ituttle@iastate.edu



SSR 2009-05

A Resolution for: Support of A Proposed Tuition Increase

Sponsored by: Student Affairs Committee

First Reading: December 3, 2008

Vote: 29-2-2

Speaker Action: ast Nicholas Casþer, Speaker Date

WHEREAS: Tuition is a matter of significant importance to the NISG Senate; and

**WHEREAS**: The Higher Education Price Index, hereafter referred to as HEPI, is an approximate projection of the inflation of services, markets, and materials used to facilitate higher education; and

**RECOGNIZING:** That the projected HEPI range for the 2009 – 2010 fiscal year is 4.2% - 5.6%; and

**FURTHER RECOGNIZING**: That tuition increases due to inflation are inevitable due to the troubling state of our economy; and

**FURTHER RECOGNIZING**: That a tuition increase is needed to maintain our current programs while maintaining financial stability at the University, but noting that these costs are posing a significant burden on students and their families; and

**BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED:** That the NISG Senate supports a proposed tuition increase of 4.2% for the 2009 – 2010 fiscal year; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED:** That a copy of this resolution be sent to the following individuals: Governor Chet Culver, Senator Jeff Danielson, Representative Bob Kressig, Representative Doris Kelley, the entire Iowa General Assembly, The State of Iowa Board of Regents, and President Ben Allen.